Oven Roasted Sweet Potato Wedges Recipe

I love roasted sweet potato but I wanted to add a bit of flavor and texture to it for tonights dinner. I haven’t really experimented with it before, I usually just pop it in the oven and serve, so I did a little bit of research to see what flavors would work. I looked at sweet potato soups to see what had been added to those and came up with spring onion and ginger. After that I got bored and just went through the pantry (I really need to get some Tupperware and organize that thing).

I decided to add lemon pepper to the ginger for spice. Spring onion for flavor, then I just needed to decide on texture. I wanted it to have a little crunch. I found Panko crumbs & sesame seeds and decided those would work well.

I used 3 small sweet potatoes because I was serving my Chicken Kiev balls and Buttered Beans but didn’t want to add anything else to the plate, so I needed quite a few.. The sweet potatoes were peeled, sliced into medallions and then sliced in halves to create wedges. After lining them on a tray with baking paper I couldn’t figure out how to get the spices to actually stick to the potato. First I added both the ginger and lemon pepper to a tablespoon of oil and tried to brush it on. Fail.

My fix was to brush on clean oil, and sprinkle the ginger & lemon pepper on to each wedge separately.

SweetPotatos1

Next I added Spring Onions followed by a sprinkle of the Panko crumbs & the sesame seeds.

SweetPotatos2

I placed them in the oven. After 5 minutes of cook time, they weren’t really roasting, they appeared to be drying. So I drizzled over another tablespoon of oil and roasted them for a further 20 minutes. Next time I think I will use larger potatoes but other than that, they were delicious.

Recipe:

Prep Time: 10 mins
Cook Time: 25 mins
Total Time: 35 mins
Ingredients
  • Sweet Potatoes
  • Lemon Pepper
  • Ground Ginger
  • Panko Crumbs
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Olive Oil
  • Sliced Spring Onions
Instructions
  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees.

  2. Peel Sweet Potatoes. Cut into medallions and then cut into halved.

  3. Place wedges on a baking tray lined with baking paper.

  4. Brush olive oil onto each wedge.

  5. Sprinkle with ginger & lemon pepper.

  6. Add spring onions.

  7. Sprinkle on Panko Crumbs & Sesame seeds.

  8. Drizzle on some more olive oil.

  9. Roast for 20-25 minutes.

  10. Serve

If you have any questions while making this recipe (or even if you’ve just tried the recipe and loved/hated it) please don’t hesitate to comment.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

