Garlic Prawns & Onion Fettuccine Recipe

About 8 years ago I went to a restaurant and they had a pasta I had never heard off on the menu (I can’t actually remember the name right) but I loved it. It was creamy, packed with garlic, and combined prawns and onions. When I got home, I googled for the recipe and couldn’t find it listed anywhere so I decided I to recreate it from memory. It has taken me 8 years to and a lot of pasta to perfect it but I have finally done it. It taste just as I remember.

I use pre-cooked prawns for this from the freezer section of my supermarket, just for convenience purposes.

I serve topped with shaved Parmesan which works really well but it can be eaten without it.

Recipe:

Ingredients
  • 500 g Fettuccine Pasta.
  • 25 g Butter for the sauce.
  • 1 Knob Butter for the onions.
  • 500 g Cooked Prawns Shelled & Deveined.
  • 400 ml Cream.
  • 1/2 Cup Cup of Chicken Stock.
  • 1 tbs Dry White Wine
  • 1/2 tsp Dry Mustard.
  • 1 Large Purple Onion Thinly Sliced
  • 1/4 tsp Paprika.
  • 1 Can Italian Diced Tomatoes.
  • 2 Large Cloves of Garlic Grated
  • 2 tbs Plain Flour.
  • Pepper to Taste.
Instructions
Preparation.
  1. Cook pasta until soft & strain.
  2. Place knob of butter in a separate frying pan.
  3. Mix flour with 1/2 the chicken stop to make a thickening paste.
Cooking Instructions
  1. In a frying pan on medium heat place 25g of butter & melt.
  2. Add cream and garlic. Simmer or 3 minutes.
  3. Add 1/2 the chicken stock.

  4. Add wine & mustard and stir through. Simmer for 3 minutes.

  5. Turn off heat and leave to sit while you cook the onions.
  6. Melt the knob of butter and cook onions until soft.
  7. Return to the sauce & add cooked onion. Turn the heat back on.
  8. Add tomatoes and bring to the boil, continuously stirring.

  9. Add paprika, & pepper.
  10. Add prawns & and stir until heated.
  11. Add pasta and stir through the sauce.
  12. Serve

If you have any questions while making this recipe (or even if you’ve just tried the recipe and loved/hated it) please don’t hesitate to comment.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

