Chicken Kiev Balls Recipe

Several months ago we brought a box of frozen kiev balls from our local supermarket. Do yourself a favor and don’t ever buy those or if you do, throw them in the bin, your taste buds will thank you for it. Interestingly enough though, while I was sitting there this morning thinking about what I was going to cook today, I found myself thinking of them. Surely they would taste a lot better if they were made from scratch right? YES, yes they do because that’s what I decided to make for dinner.

But first, I had to figure out how to get the chicken breasts in my freezer into lovely round balls. I scoured the internet for chicken balls and every tutorial I could find said I needed chicken mince. I didn’t have chicken mince (I’ve never actually brought or used it), I had lovely, chicken breasts. I was a little disappointed because I thought I’d have to scrap tonights dinner.

Then I was reminded that I was given a mincer/sausage maker over a year ago that had never been used!! The plan was back on. I minced the chicken breasts with this awesome machine and voila chicken mince.

Next, how do I get the tasty garlic & chive butter I plan to make for this recipe, inside the chicken?? If I mash it all up, there is no way its going to go inside. Fix, melted the butter, add the garlic & chives, refrigerate until set. push inside the mince balls.

I also wanted to add flavor to the bread crumbs. So I added some spices to that. I used just store brought bread crumbs because it was easy.

Here’s a picture of them before they were cooked.

ChickenBallsUncooked

6 chicken breasts were used for this recipe which made 22 chicken balls. They were served with Oven Roasted Sweet Potatoes & Buttered Beans.

I also made a Parmesan & Black Pepper Dipping Sauce.

They truly were delicious!

Recipe:

Prep Time: 15 mins
Cook Time: 20 mins
Total Time: 35 mins

Ingredients

Garlic & Chive Butter
  • 100 g Salted Butter
  • 1 tsp Dry Chives
  • 2 Cloves Garlic
Chicken Balls
  • 6 Chicken Breasts Minced
Bread Crumbs
  • 2 Cups Bread Crumbs
  • 1 tsp Lemon Pepper
  • 1 tsp Garlic Salt
Other Ingredients Needed
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Cup Skim Milk
  • 1 Cup Plain Flour
Instructions
Garlic & Chives Butter
  1. Melt butter.

  2. Add garlic & chives.

  3. Place in a bowl & refrigerate until set.

  4. Cut into cubes.

Chicken Balls
  1. Roll chicken mince (about a tablespoon full) in your palms until you have a round ball.

  2. Press 1 butter cube into center of chicken mince & roll in palms to cover.

  3. Follow crumbing instructions.

Crumbing
  1. Add lemon pepper & garlic salt to crumbs and stir to mix through.

  2. Mix egg & milk together in a bowl.

  3. Place chicken ball in flour, then egg/milk mix, followed by crumbs.

  4. Cook chicken balls in heated oil for 4 minutes.

  5. Serve

If you have any questions while making this recipe (or even if you’ve just tried the recipe and loved/hated it) please don’t hesitate to comment.

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

